Well-being - Enjoying - Experiencing: These are our three keys to bliss. In earlier times, only all 3 keys together could open the cooperative chest of the agricultural community at Förthof. This cooperation enabled its members to live in more prosperity and to have a brighter future. Today, the 3 keys of the Förthof open the gate to bliss for you.
When the sun sets earlier, fruits ripen and leaves slowly change their color, we know: The time for harvesting in our vineyards in Krems has begun. In one of the youngest vineries in the Wachau, everyone is happy to help.
Whether in our winery or as of 2024/2025 also in our hotel and restaurant, DER FÖRTHOF offers an unforgettable experience. Coming together and enjoying together is our top priority. Socializing with a good glass of wine in a relaxed atmosphere, far away from the worries of everyday life - that's what we call bliss. With its three keys, DER FÖRTHOF opens the way there for you.
"Good things take time" - to ensure that our gem of a hotel on the Danube is not only good, but excellent, we are now moving forward with construction after a long planning phase. The HOTEL FÖRTHOF with restaurant and wine bar is expected to open its gate to bliss in 2024/2025. We are already looking forward to welcoming you!
Yoga & wine in the Weingut Förthof
Kultur bei Winzer*innen (culture in winery)
2nd c. A.D.
According to Roman findings, there was a heavily used Danube ferry between Favianis (Mautern) and the northern bank. However, first settlement findings date back to the Bronze and Iron Ages.
8th c. A.D
According to legend, Charlemagne (748-814) founded a court at the landing place of the ferry on the northern bank. This served as the residence of the ferryman and his servants.
Rapotto de Urfahr was mentioned for the first time in the records. The civic recorder and coinage master built the Förthof residence. He and his father, Walchung von Stein, are mentioned as one of the first feudatories of the ferry.
Originally, the ferry was owned by the German king, later by the Bishop of Passau, who lent it to the Duke of Austria in 1240 (Frederick II, the Quarrelsome, from the House of Babenberg, 1211-1246). He granted the rights of passage.
The chapel adjacent to the residence was built by one of the younger Rapottos as a two-bay early Gothic hall. The filial church is dedicated to St. Matthias am Urfahr, however, it does not receive any parish rights.
Enfeoffment of Simon of Ips with Förthof residence, which he sold ("Verthof gelgegen ob Stain") together with the Matthias Chapel in 1388 to "Friedrich den Chrafft, at that time toll collector in Stein".
Construction of the Danube bridge. The Förthof loses its importance as seat of passage.
Isack Aspan vom Haag appears as owner of the residence. He renovates the big building and introduces Protestant services to the chapel. They are held until 1613, although they were prohibited later.
Ferdinand II (1578-1637) seizes the residence as princely fief and confers it to Dürnstein Abbey.
Acquisition of the property by the Förthof agricultural community.
Förthof village becomes the town of Stein. Until 1848, the medieval Förthof residence was part of the manorial system of Dürnstein.
Helga Figl takes over the gourmet hotel "Am Förthof" from her parents. The building is located next to the historic Förthof residence. She runs the hotel and restaurant until her retirement.